Guest Blogger – Ex Student Christopher Hoare

Chris Hoare.png

This December I shall be graduating from The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama with a Masters degree in Music Theatre. No doubt as I cross the stage of the Royal Festival Hall to receive my award, I shall cast my mind back – almost to the day – 10 years ago when I first auditioned for a Collingwood production.

Three months into my first year of secondary school education, I had no idea how the following months of ‘gruelling’ rehearsals and performances would shape my life and career. Oliver! (2007) was my first real exposure to Drama at Collingwood and I have never forgotten the friendliness and support of many of the cast and crew. It has been rare to experience such a tight ensemble among an entire  creative company in many environments in which I have since worked, but whether I was being fitted into costume by Mrs Cooley or making a quick change out of it (or even having my hair dyed!), I certainly ‘considered my-self’ part of the Collingwood Drama family.

Ask me today when or why I decided to become a professional actor and Collingwood is the answer.

During the following seven years at the school, the annual production was the highlight of the year. Even before a show ended, the gossip and rumours about which show would feature the next year were circulating.

By the time I left the school, I had been everything from  a baby-faced down-and-out to the voice of a giant man-eating alien plant although it was during my GCSE and A-Level Drama studies where I truly developed as a performer.

Drama at Collingwood was not just another lesson. Often the style of working generated an atmosphere rarely experienced or demanded of other disciplines. Much like a repertory theatre, the class became a company and developed bonds of trust and support. Classes inspired confidence and discipline, fostering creativity and individuality helping us develop as people and performers.

The Drama studio was often a hub and for those of us eager to go above and beyond, spending many hours after school and during break times, working together to explore the limits of everybody’s individual creative potentials. This is what made Drama special because everyone had an opportunity to try their hand at new skills and find their niche as well as develop themselves as confident people.

Studying Drama was tough, gritty and at times exhausting, yet its rigorous demands ensured that each student push themselves, physically and mentally to succeed.

Our analysis of Golding’s The Lord of the Flies introduced us to the destructive power of gender stereotypes and male aggression in society whilst learning about female oppression and hegemonic patriarchal structures in Ibsen’s A Dolls House. Through projects which explored genetic engineering and mental health we were educated about social issues and imbalances which are still widely prevalent today. In study and performance we opened discussion of certain taboos to better understand the world and increase awareness of our responsibilities to promote conversation and change.

The Christmas Soirée was always a delight, giving us the opportunity to share our performances with an audience and demonstrate how we developed working with texts and movement to engage with these complex debates. As much as I enjoyed the process and hours of hard work put into preparing and rehearsing a show, nothing beats the rush of adrenaline, nerves and excitement of being part of an ensemble or taking lead on stage in communion with an audience.

Of course Drama at Collingwood was really special because it was the child of a rare character. I have never met a woman as lively, ferocious, or charitable as Jane Roberts. Her spirit and leadership of the subject was an inspiration and the commitment she gave to her students was unparalleled. Her willingness to foster young talent and fearlessness to deliver tough love where due was a guiding influence throughout school. Her passion for theatre, enthusiasm and creative drive, cast any doubt from my mind that I wanted to act and she has often been the voice in my head throughout my education and training, guiding my steps. I doubt I would have developed the discipline and resilience to survive and become a professional in a competitive industry without her support and faith from day one.

Leave a comment